Monday, October 06, 2014

The Monstrous Book of Monsters by Libby Hamilton






The Monstrous Book of Monsters is an interactive compendium filled with everything you’ve ever wanted to know about spotting, capturing and disposing of pesky monsters.  Kids will love the fun (not so scary) illustrations and pop-ups while learning the basics of Monsters 101.  This is a great book for Halloween but might also be enjoyed all year long!

Readalikes:

The Complete Book of Monstrous Beasts by Ernest Drake

Monsters, Beasts and Demons in America by Kristi Lew

Apps:

Toca Kitchen Monsters- Have you ever wanted to cook for a monster? This app lets you prepare delicious monster food in a cute, open-ended game design.
http://tocaboca.com/game/toca-kitchen-monsters/

Toys:

Melissa and Doug monster bowling set

Thursday, October 02, 2014

Wormy Apple Croissants and Other Halloween Recipes by Brekka Hervey Larrew



Many families make holidays a month-long event, and Halloween is no exception! Wormy Apple Croissants is full of kid-friendly recipes that are great for a party or simply shared with the family at home.  Recipes are rated by difficulty to appeal to a wide range of age groups, while parents will also appreciate the safety tips listed at the beginning.  Enjoy a taste of Halloween!

Readalikes:

Celebrate Halloween with Pumpkins, Costumes and Candy by Deborah Heiligman

Spooky Crafts by Helen Skillicorn

Apps:

Halloween Spooky Sound Box: choose from 50 terrifying noises and sound effects to impress your friends or scare your siblings

Happy Halloween Pumpkin Maker: a dress up game for pumpkins! Change the background, pumpkin size and facial features.
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/pumpkin-maker-free/id392564579?mt=8

Toys:

Melissa and Doug costume sets


Places:

20 (Mostly Free) Halloween Activities around Boston

Things to do with the Kids in Boston and beyond

Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Picture This Animals: Amazing Infographics and Cool Facts for Kids! By Margaret Hynes

 
 
This beautifully designed book features engaging infographics for older readers who are interested in a wide range of animal topics.  From the fastest animals to incredible adaptations, Amazing Infographics presents interesting, easy to understand facts and stats for reluctant readers and animal enthusiasts.

Readalikes:

Animal Record Breakers by Steve Parker

The Animal Book by Steve Jenkins

Apps:

Weird but True - National Geographic uses a beautiful interactive design to teach fun facts about animals, etc.

Nature Tap – Guess the animal sounds by matching them to one of four pictures.

Places:

Zoo New England, Educational Programs for Families and Children

New England Aquarium Family Programs