Tuesday, October 28, 2014

P is for Pinata: A Mexico Alphabet by Tony Johnston



The culture and history of Mexico comes alive in this A-Z adventure.  More thorough descriptions of terms and traditions are located near the main text, which makes this book perfect for very young and/or independent readers. P is for Pintata will be best understood after reading a few introductory books about the country and its people.

Readalikes:

Art Across the Ages: Ancient Mexico by Kelly Campbell Hinshaw

Cultural Traditions in Mexico by Lynn Peppas

Foods of Mexico by Barbara Sheen

Country Explorers: Mexico by Lerner Publications Company

Apps:

Gus on the Go: Spanish for Kids
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/gus-on-the-go-spanish-for-kids/id541567964?mt=8

Mexican Recipes
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.flavorfulapps.mexicanrecipesfree&hl=en


All About Sharks by Jim Arnosky



This shark book will certainly appeal to elementary school readers who enjoy learning about shark species’ habits, characteristics and lifestyles. Colorful illustrations, easy vocabulary and simple text make this book particularly readable and enjoyable.

Readalikes:

Sharks by Gail Gibbons

A Shark Pup Grows Up by Pam Zollman

Tough, Toothy Baby Sharks by Sandra Markle

Apps:

Expedition White Shark- track Great Whites in real time

Discovery Kids Sharks

Places:
Shark and Ray Touch Tank

My Brother Martin by Christine King Farris



Christine King Farris memorializes her brother Dr. Martin Luther King in this beautiful book of stories from their childhood. While often seen as a revolutionary leader, Mrs. King Farris shows another, very personal side of Dr. King that proves any ordinary child can grow up to change the world.

Readalikes:

A Lesson for Martin Luther King Jr. by Denise Lewis Patrick

Martin’s Big Words by Doreen Rappaport

I Have a Dream by Scholastic Press

Apps:

GoExplore Martin Luther King Jr. National Historic Site

Riding with Rosa Parks

Martin Luther King Speeches

Places:

Museum of African American History

Black History Trail

From Head to Toe: Bound Feet, Bathing Suits and other Bizarre and Beautiful Things by Janice Weaver



From corsets and zoot suits to blue jeans and ties, fashion has changed so much over the last several centuries!  Often related to real political and historical events, these trends can change the way we relate to each other and world around us.  This book is great for middle school readers who want to learn more about fashion as well as changing concepts of beauty over the years.

Readalikes:

18th Century Clothing by Bobbie Kalman

19th Century Clothing by Bobbie Kalman

From Rags to Riches: A History of Girl's Clothing in America by Leslie Sills

Children's Costumes by Mason Crest Publishers

Underwear: What we Wear under There by Ruth Freeman Swain

Apps:

Style Studio: Fashion Designer
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/style-studio-fashion-designer/id366492169?mt=8

Places:

MFA Boston Department of Textile Arts and Fashion
http://www.mfa.org/collections/david-roberta-logie-department-of-textile-fashion-arts


Mr. Cornell's Dream Boxes by Jeanette Winter



This book brings children into the imaginative world of Joseph Cornell, where he created shadow boxes known as "dream boxes" filled with personal mementos, collages and small objects. His inspiration for each work is shown next to the boxes, allowing us to observe his process, thoughts and ideas.  With beautiful illustrations and dreamy prose, Winter develops a magical world for young art lovers.

Readalikes:

Edward Hopper Paints his World by Robert Burleigh

Palazzo Inverso (M.C. Escher) by D.B. Johnson

The Yellow House (Van Gogh & Paul Gauguin) by Susan Goldman Rubin

Degas and the Dance by Susan Goldman Rubin

Apps:

Brushes
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/brushes-3/id545366251?mt=8

Art of Glow
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.natenai.artofglow&hl=en

Dot for Tots
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dots-for-tots-teach-toddlers/id377888480?mt=8

Toys:

Spirograph
http://www.amazon.com/Kahootz-01002-Spirograph-Design-Tin/dp/B009VE38D2/ref=sr_1_2?s=toys-and-games&ie=UTF8&qid=1414510136&sr=1-2&keywords=spirograph

Melissa & Doug Scratch Art
http://www.amazon.com/Melissa-Doug-Deluxe-Combo-Scratch/dp/1223068080/ref=sr_1_8?s=toys-and-games&ie=UTF8&qid=1414510155&sr=1-8&keywords=art+kids

Places:

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston studio classes
http://www.mfa.org/programs/studio-art-classes/childrens-schedule

Worcester Art Museum classes
http://www.worcesterart.org/education/youth-classes/

The Official DC Superhero Cookbook by Matthew Mead



This book will turn any young comic book lover into a junior chef!  With an engaging, colorful format and superhero characters guiding you through each recipe, this cute cookbook serves up quick snacks, full meals and desserts. Great for theme parties or just for fun.

Readalikes:

More character-guided cookbooks below!

Sesame Street: B is for Baking by Susan McQuillan

Ratatouille: What's Cooking? by Thomas Keller

Princess and the Frog: Tiana's Cookbook by Disney Press

Roald Dahl's Even More Revolting Recipe's by Roald Dahl

Apps:

Kids Recipes and Desserts
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/kids-recipes-desserts-free/id586894456?mt=8

Toca Kitchen
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/toca-kitchen/id476553281?mt=8

Toys:

Melissa & Doug Stir-Fry Cooking Set
http://www.amazon.com/Melissa-Doug-Stir-Fry-Slicing/dp/B00146G71K/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1414508367&sr=8-3&keywords=melissa+doug+cooking

Melissa & Doug Chef Costume
http://www.amazon.com/Melissa-Doug-Chef-Role-Costume/dp/B002F9NH68/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1414508367&sr=8-8&keywords=melissa+doug+cooking

Places:

Kid's cooking classes and workshops around Boston:
http://boston.mommypoppins.com/kids/boston-kids-cooking-classes-vacation-programs-birthday-parties-workshops

Cooking up Culture: Boston University
http://www.cookingupculture.org/


Hockey in Action by Niki Walker & Sarah Dann



A great introduction for first-time hockey players and enthusiasts, Hockey in Action guides young readers through all the essentials including safety, equipment, terminology and game play. With illustrations and live-action photos, this book is straightforward and fun to read.

Readalikes:

Hockey Hotshots: Young Stars of the NHL by Steele Filipek

The Boston Bruins by Mark Stewart

Hockey: How to Play like the Pros by Sean Rossiter & Paul Carson

Skating for Power and Speed by Sean Rossiter & Paul Carson

Apps:

NHL Gamecenter- keep up with all the latest NHL news, schedules and scores!

Air Hockey

Places:

NHL for kids

The Boston Bruins