Monday, September 29, 2014

How the Dinosaur Got to the Museum by Jessie Hartland



 

A great intro to archeology, paleontology and museology for the budding dino expert. This book explores all of the hard work that goes into discovering, classifying and preserving historic objects by following the journey of one specific artifact: a fossilized Diplodocus.  New vocabulary is introduced and reinforced throughout the story to build a clearer understanding of more difficult concepts.

Readalikes:

Fast Facts: Dinosaurs by DK Publishing

Digging up Dinosaurs by Aliki

Apps:

It’s Tyrannosaurus Rex Smithsonian’s Prehistoric Pals- A digital book app that explores the life of a T-Rex.  Children can choose to read along or be read to.

Ultimate Dinopedia- An interactive encyclopedia that features videos, stats and realistic images.
  
Toys:

Neat-Oh! Zip Bin Dinosaur Collector Toy Box & Playset

Places:

Ecotarium’s Dino Tracks Exhibit
http://www.ecotarium.org/science-nature-exhibits/dinotracks

Museum of Science permanent Dinosaur exhibition
http://www.mos.org/exhibits/dinosaurs

No comments:

Post a Comment