Tuesday, October 28, 2014

From Head to Toe: Bound Feet, Bathing Suits and other Bizarre and Beautiful Things by Janice Weaver



From corsets and zoot suits to blue jeans and ties, fashion has changed so much over the last several centuries!  Often related to real political and historical events, these trends can change the way we relate to each other and world around us.  This book is great for middle school readers who want to learn more about fashion as well as changing concepts of beauty over the years.

Readalikes:

18th Century Clothing by Bobbie Kalman

19th Century Clothing by Bobbie Kalman

From Rags to Riches: A History of Girl's Clothing in America by Leslie Sills

Children's Costumes by Mason Crest Publishers

Underwear: What we Wear under There by Ruth Freeman Swain

Apps:

Style Studio: Fashion Designer
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/style-studio-fashion-designer/id366492169?mt=8

Places:

MFA Boston Department of Textile Arts and Fashion
http://www.mfa.org/collections/david-roberta-logie-department-of-textile-fashion-arts


No comments:

Post a Comment