Monday, October 27, 2014

You Wouldn't Want to be a Salem Witch! by Jim Pipe

 

Halloween and witches go hand in hand during October, but the stories of Salem, Massachusetts are also a great talking point for 17th century history. This book guides young readers through the unbelievable events starting in 1692 as if they were an actual person during that time. After a thorough introduction to the time period and main players, the chapters outline the accusations, trials and culmination of the panic.  It's an exciting read with a handy glossary at the back.

Readalikes:

Six Questions of American History: Who were the Accused Witches of Salem? by Laura Hamilton Waxman

Witches! The Absolutely True Tale of Disaster in Salem by Rosalyn Schanzer

Apps:

Tour Historic Salem- audio, video and maps guide you through the best of Salem, MA
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/tour-historic-salem/id467755394?mt=8

Places:

Salem Witch Museum
http://www.salemwitchmuseum.com/

The Witch House
http://www.salemweb.com/witchhouse/

Nathaniel Hawthorne House Witch Trial Reenactment
http://www.7gables.org/events/october-performances/


No comments:

Post a Comment