Monday, November 10, 2014

Bodh Gaya and other Buddhist Holy Places by Mandy Ross




It can be hard to find clear explanations of Buddhism, but this book does a great job of summing up Buddha's life and mission in just a few pages.  The rest of the book is dedicated to understanding Buddhist symbols and practices including pilgrimage sites, festivals and temple rituals. Bodh Gaya and other Buddhist Holy Places is appropriate for middle school readers, especially as an informational resource.

Readalikes:

Buddhism in Thailand by Frances Hawker and Sunantha Phusomsai

Buddhism: Yuranan's Story by Holly Wallace

Buddha by Demi

Apps:

My First Yoga Animal Poses for Kids
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/my-first-yoga-animal-poses/id365336362?mt=8

Zen Garden 2
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/izen-garden-2-portable-zen/id347232643?mt=8

Enchanted Meditation for Kids
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/enchanted-meditations-for/id490096965?mt=8

Places:

Shambhala Community
http://boston.shambhala.org/

Zen Center
http://bostonzen.org/

No comments:

Post a Comment