Monday, November 17, 2014

Danger - Icebergs! by Roma Gans

 

This is a simple book for elementary school readers who want to know more about the Arctic, or the natural phenomenon that led to the sinking of the Titanic. From formation to dissolution, this book follows the life of an iceberg.  While icebergs can provide habitats for arctic animals, they are also potentially dangerous.  After reviewing the Titanic disaster, the book ends with a brief mention of how sailors and travelers protect themselves from icebergs today.

Readalikes:

Antarctica by Linda Aspen-Baxter

Icebergs and Glaciers by Seymour Simon

Explore Antarctica by Bobbie Kalman

Apps:

Chasing Ice
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/chasing-ice/id579276308?mt=8

Mission Antarctica
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/mission-antarctica/id451913321?mt=8

Titanic Database
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/titanic-database/id517114728?mt=8

Places:

Titanic Museum
http://www.titanichistoricalsociety.org/museum/

Exploring the Arctic Seafloor exhibition
http://polardiscovery.whoi.edu/museums/exhibit.html



No comments:

Post a Comment