Monday, November 24, 2014

Desert Life: a Close-Up Look at the Natural World of a Desert by Barbara Taylor


Each chapter in Desert Life features a different species that has adapted to survive in this harsh habitat.  From examples of snakes and turtles to gerbils and cacti, this book proves that living in the desert takes special skills and aptitudes, particularly the ability to go without food or water for several days.  Young readers will enjoy learning about these species for the first time.

Readalikes:

Deserts by Seymour Simon

Desert Giant: the World of the Saguaro Cactus by Barbara Bash

Watching Desert Wildlife by Jim Arnosky

Apps:

Desert Tortoise
http://www.nps.gov/moja/photosmultimedia/desert-tortoise-iphone-app.htm

easyLearn Adaptations in Animals
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/easylearn-adaptations-in-animals/id579406670?mt=8

Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum app
https://www.desertmuseum.org/visit/geotrex.php

Places:

The Massachusetts Desert
http://www.marlborough-ma.gov/gen/marlboroughma_concommisn/parks/desert_area

Desert Animals
http://www.desertusa.com/animals.html

No comments:

Post a Comment