Monday, November 10, 2014

Journey to Ellis Island by Carol Bierman


This book follows a Russian boy and his family on their journey to the United States in the 1920s.  Although presented as a narrative, this true story is supplemented with real photographs, postcards and personal items from the Weinstein family.  Journey to Ellis Island does a great job of presenting immigration topics in a meaningful way, through the eyes of real people who experienced settling in a foreign country.  This is a great book for middle school readers with a little guidance from parents along the way.

Readalikes:

How People Immigrate by Sarah De Capua

Ellis Island by Thomas S. Owens

Apps:

 NYC Ellis Island: Take a virtual tour of Ellis Island
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/nyc-ellis-island/id457142722?mt=8

Places:

American History Games for Kids
http://www.wartgames.com/themes/american/immigration.html

Scholastic: Meet Young Immigrants
http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/immigration/young_immigrants/

No comments:

Post a Comment