Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Railroad Fever: Building the Transcontinental Railroad 1830-1870 by Monica Halpern



This non-fiction chapter book starts with an introduction to the earliest industrial technologies that would eventually create the transcontinental railroad. Each chapter focuses on a specific theme, from the conditions of the workers to native life in the Wild West.  The Great Race between the Union and Central Pacific railroads boasts its own chapter, culminating in the driving of the golden spike where the two rails meet.  Railroad Fever is a great book for older middle school readers.

Readalikes:

Bandanas, Chaps and Ten Gallon Hats by Bobbie Kalman

The Railroad by John R. Matthews

The Industrial Revolution by Hilarie N. Staton

Apps:

Industrial Revolution
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/industrial-revolution/id399672536?mt=8

UP Steam
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/up-steam/id468495042?mt=8

Places:

Holiday Train Rides
http://boston.mommypoppins.com/kids/the-polar-express-holiday-trains-story-times-and-movie-rides-in-and-around-boston

Train Gallery at Wenham Museum
http://www.wenhammuseum.org/trains.html

Chatham Railroad Museum
http://www.chathamrailroadmuseum.com/




No comments:

Post a Comment