Monday, November 17, 2014

Seeing Stars by Dandi Daley Mackall

 

Sparkly stars seem to light up this book of introductory constellations.  With poetic narration, Seeing Stars compares constellations in the sky to their imaginary counterparts.  A bear outline helps children conceptualize the Great Bear, for example.  All of the constellations appear together at the end of the book, making it perfect for early grade readers.

Readalikes:

The Big Dipper by Franklyn M. Branley

Stars! Stars! Stars! by Nancy Elizabeth Wallace

Older than the Stars by Karen C. Fox

Apps:

Star Walk
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/star-walk-5-stars-astronomy/id295430577?mt=8

Astronaut Trainer
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/jetpack-journeys-astronaut/id761412238?mt=8

Cosmographia
https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cosmographia/id519714038?mt=8

Places:

Boston University public open night
http://www.bu.edu/astronomy/events/public-open-night-at-the-observatory/

Astronomy after Hours, Museum of Science
http://www.mos.org/public-events/astronomy-after-hours


No comments:

Post a Comment